Melon Sky

I have only been up for 40 minutes today and I am already feeling inspired and optimistic towards today and towards life.

I wrote that yesterday morning at about 8am, and then I never got to finish the post. I’d woken up to the coldest day of the year so far in DC, and I wasn’t looking forward to trekking to work. And then I pulled open my blinds and saw the light of early dawn–when you can tell the sun is up but still hiding below the trees. The majority of the sky was a light ice blue, and the horizon was the color of a melon. And you could tell it was cold just from the color of the sky, but there was something about the peacefulness of that moment that made me excited for the day. I wonder how my Tuesday would have gone if I had left my blinds closed.

Leave a Reply

