Crock Pot Curried Lentils

Last year, my mom got me a crock pot. My first meal was disastrously boring. I didn’t use the crock pot after that because I simply did not know what to do with it. I also, for whatever reason, refused to pick recipes out, write down ingredients, and shop specifically for those ingredients. About 4 months ago, I decided to break out Good Ol’ Crocky again, and I made my first batch of turkey chili. I loved it, have made it twice since, and just bought ingredients to make it again last night. Last night I also tried a different crock pot recipe called: Crock Pot Curried Lentils. I got the idea from here. I started following Peanut Butter Fingers about two weeks ago, and it’s one of the first blogs I actually follow every day and look forward to consistently reading. Another blog I feel similar about is One Twenty Five, which you can find here.

Anyway, back to the main issue at hand. My crock pot lentils! Below is the recipe that PBFingers used. I copied this recipe except I made the following changes: I used just curry powder (abot 2-3 tablespoons) instead of all the spices; I did not use as much cauliflower; I used chicken breast tenders instead of thighs; and I did not use cilantro.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups lentils
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans (4 cups) chicken broth or vegetable broth
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon garam masala
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon corriander
  • Dash of cayenne pepper to taste
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cups cauliflower florets, chopped
  • 4 cups fresh spinach
  • 4 chicken thighs
  • Fresh cilantro

Here are all my ingredients at the start! You can tell a meal has potential when there are so many colors involved!

image

All in, and ready to start cookin’!

image (1)

Woke up to smelling some wonderful curryin cooking away in my kitchen! It doesn’t look as good as it smells, but frankly I think it’s more important for it to smell good than look good. If it looks good but smells bad….that can’t mean good things, can it?

image (2)

I drained all of the excess broth out of the crock pot and put all my lentils into a giant tupperware. Yes, a GIANT tupperware! I had it for lunch and for dinner. I think it could use a little more flavor (this is of course because I decided to just use curry powder). Next time, I want to try to make it with panang curry, which I have to learn how to make.

Leave a Reply

