Rainbow Salad

Image

In my current job, one of the many hats I wear is Health Coach (formerly known as a Lifestyle and Weight Management Coach). One of my tasks is to offer 20-30 minute nutrition consultations to students and faculty of the university. When asking my clients what they eat for lunch and dinner, many times they tell me they eat salad. However, when I ask them what is in their salad, they tell me: lettuce, croutons, and cheese…sometimes tomatoes. My biggest piece of advice to my clients is to add as many different colored vegetables to their salad. Not only does that spice up your salad by adding different tastes and textures, but different colored vegetables (and fruits) contain different nutrients. Check out this great article by LiveStrong–it breaks it down by color.

What are my favorite things to put in my salad?

  • mixed greens, including arugula (I love that stuff!)
  • tomatoes
  • red onion
  • carrots
  • green, yellow, and red peppers
  • sunflower seeds
  • avocado (hey there healthy fats!)

What are some of YOUR favorite things to add to a salad? Please feel free to tell me in a comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

