Zamboni that Smoothie!

I finally bought some key ingredients for my healthy smoothies: kale and almond milk. It would suffice it to say that even with these new ingredients, my smoothie-making skills still need some honing. Yesterday, I tackled my first kale smoothie while on the phone with my mom. What went in it?

  • ~1/2 cup kale
  • 4 strawberries
  • some blueberries
  • vanilla almond milk

I used the Cuisinart Stick to make it, and as I was on the phone I set the stick in the cup for a second. Can you guess what happened? Yep. The stick outweighed the glass and it toppled over. Half of my smoothie dumped all over the counter. I hate wasting food (as we all should) so the thought of wasting fresh fruits and veggies pained me. So I grabbed a straw and started to drink the smoothie off of the counter. It wasn’t until about 3 sips in that I decided that “zamboni-ing” my smoothie probably wasn’t the best idea, as I hadn’t wiped my counter down for a day or two. It stopped there.

My smoothie wasn’t fantastic. It is still missing a certain element. I think a banana and some more berries could have fixed it. What do y’all think?

(Not sure how zamboni can be used as a verb? Think of me as the zamboni and my counter as the ice. Make sense?)

Leave a Reply

