Chicken Satay

Hello there!

As I was posting my Cara Box goodies on Kaitlyn’s site, I came across a crock pot recipe for chicken satay. In case you didn’t know, I am a big fan of crock pot meals and always looking for more ideas, as I have only dabbled a bit in the crock pot world. So I saw Kaitlyn’s recipe and had to try it, as I am also a fan of peanut sauce.

My Adjusted Recipe

2 frozen chicken breasts1 can lite coconut milk1 clove garlic, minced2 tsp brown sugar1 1/2 tsp curry powder1/2 tsp salt1/2 tsp pepper1/4 cup creamy peanut butter1 tbsp lime juice1/2 cup chicken broth 2 tbsp sugar1-2 dashes cayenne pepperImageImageI am satisfied with the turnout, but I think I have a couple of changes to make in order to make it perfect. First, the creamy peanut butter I used was from Whole Foods, and even though it was labeled as creamy peanut butter, it still had tiny chunks of peanut in it. So, when I strained the sauce from the crock pot, put it in a pan to simmer, and then added the peanut butter, I don’t think that the peanut butter melted into the sauce as well as it could have. So, the sauce was still a little watery. This also may have been because I altered the cooking time. I was supposed to cook it in the crock pot on low for 6 hours, but due to time contraints I cooked it on low for 3 hours and high for 1 hour. I think that had it had the time to stay in there for six hours, the sauce may have had time to get a little thicker. The important part is that the chicken was in there long enough so that it isn’t raw. Raw chicken is no bueno.

Leave a Reply

