Scrambling

I love living in the city. I love being able to walk or bike to the majority of places that I need to go to. I am a city girl at heart. But there are times that I need to unwind and get away from the city…to escape the noise, the traffic, and the busy days. When I go home to Pennsylvania, I find this escape. However, sometimes traveling home is so much of a hassle without a car that the release of being in my suburban home is overshadowed by the fact that my 2.5 hour trip was made into a 7 hour trip due to trains, traffic, and organizing rides. This past Friday, I went to Great Falls, which is a National Park in Northern Virginia. (It also expands into Maryland, but I heard the Maryland side is for the ninnies.)

image_2

It was so nice to be able to escape the city but only have to go 30 minutes away to do so. For a little over an hour, we climbed (more like scrambled) up and down rocks like you see in this picture above.

image_3

The water was moving fast–we estimated around 25-35 mph, so at times it was scary to look down at it and to imagine falling in and being swept away. But it was also so pretty–look at the pretty green color it is! There were also some other slightly scary climbing scrambling times, but it was so much more exhilarating than frightening, and I loved every moment of it.

image_5

I climbed down that (above)! There were times that we would sit on the rocks and just listen to the sound of the water. It was so incredibly peaceful to hear the rapids 30 or so feet below. Especially when you get to see views such as below:
image_6

Another major bonus from this day? Not only was it a fantastic mental release, but it was some great physical activity as well 🙂 As I mentioned before in my post about indoor rock climbing, sometimes there is nothing better than a workout disguised as an  outdoor(ish) adventure.

image

image_4

image_1

Leave a Reply

