Using the Built Environment

I am not a consistent runner. I have dreams about it and like to pretend I am, but I’m not. However, yesterday I ran to a beautiful park that has a ton of built in stone benches and stairs, so it was the perfect place to add in some extra exercises. We used the benches to do step-ups, one-legged squats that we called “ice-skaters,” and box jumps. I also used one of the benches to do some modified push ups. And of course we ran some stairs! It was such a great way to break up our run that I ventured back to that park today, even though it is 1.67 miles from my apartment. I ended up running 2.5 miles (the first mile was 7:52!) but I did have some pit stops along the way to take pictures, run some stairs, and rest my poor feet, which I think have plantar fasciitis. šŸ˜¦

 

 

IMG_3165

IMG_3166

IMG_3167

IMG_3168

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Using the Built Environment

    • Thanks for stopping by! I love when I find other DC bloggers, so when I came across your link on Anne from fANNEtastic Food’s site, I got really excited! And I share your love for meridian hill park! I’ve known about it for years but for whatever reason didn’t check it out until last week. I live up near the zoo so meridian hill is a great mid-point motivation during my runs šŸ™‚ (not that I run a lot, but still!)

Leave a Reply

