Breakfast Casserole Courtesy of PB Fingers

Last week I found the following recipe on Julie’s blog:

 

Breakfast Casserole

Ingredients

  • 8 eggs
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup fat free Greek yogurt
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups reduced fat shredded cheese
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded spinach
  • 8 ounces Canadian bacon, chopped
  • 3/4 loaf of whole wheat bread, torn into 1-inch pieces (approximately 7 – 8 cups of bread pieces)

 

I love the idea of making something that can last longer than one sitting. In addition, I like that once prepared, I can heat this up quickly every morning for a week or so..until it’s gone!  I made a couple of adjustments to the ingredients. My list is below. The main differences are that I did not use Canadian bacon (simply because I didn’t have any) and I didn’t use as much bread because I am trying to cut down on grains as I often overindulge!

  • 8 eggs
  • 1 and 1/2 cups almond milk
  • 1/2 cup fat free Greek yogurt
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups reduced fat shredded cheese
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded spinach
  • 1/4 loaf of whole wheat bread, torn into 1-inch pieces (approximately 7 – 8 cups of bread pieces)

 

THE PROCESS

IMG_3162

IMG_3163

THE RESULT

IMG_3164

Overall, I am satisfied. Next time, I would like to add in some more ingredients like squash, onions, and maybe some form of meat. I haven’t had any since two days ago…so I think I will have some for dinner tonight!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

