CocoaMangoBerry? MangoCocoaBerry? Cocangoberry?

Good news! Today I finally and accidentally made my first satisfying chocolate-y smoothie. This has been a long time in the making. I was really craving chocolate, but since I am participating in an 8-week challenge with my boyfriend and two of my best friends (look for a post on this coming soon!), I couldn’t have any sweets or I wouldn’t get any points! Luckily, I have some 100% cocoa powder in my cabinet. I combined it with a couple other random things in my fridge and I got a smoothie with the PERFECT consistency and it actually had a great chocolate flavor. In the past, I haven’t combined the cocoa powder with an ingredient that was sweet enough, so the bitter taste still came through. I think the combination of the cocoa with the mango did the trick. In addition, I think the consistency is due in large part to the velvety mango. You will notice that I only made a 1/2 cup serving.  While fruits are good for you, mangos are high in sugar and should be consumed in small portions. Just an FYI!

 

photo

 

Ingredients (for a 1/2 cup serving)
1/4 cup diced mangos
1/4 cup blueberries
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 cup coconut milk

Leave a Reply

