Summer Slim Down Challenge: Weeks 1 and 2 Road Bumps

Hello there! Long time, no talk. I was out of town last week to visit my grandparents and then yesterday I started my first full-time job! I think I am going to like it there, but the adjustment from no job to full time is a little rough. Not bad rough, just different rough.

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 10.54.07 PM

Anyway, as with any behavior change, my fellow challenge mates and I are experiencing our own unique challenges within this challenge. We are slowly finding out what our weaknesses are, individually. I am going to share some with you below. First, we will start with my own challenges.

  • Free food. I have come to be an impeccable grocery shopper and a “proficient” diner. I have no problem saying no to buying unhealthy things in the grocery aisle. Yes, my eyes linger on the cheese a little longer than they should, but I’ve found it easier and easier to just not buy it. When eating out, I have taught myself to go immediately to the salad section (and to pick one out that is still interesting and will excite my taste buds) or to choose an item on the menu that incorporates a lot of veggies, little to no friend food, and no cheese! But free food–such as food at a potluck or the food at work. Well, that’s tougher. I mean, those cookies just LOOKED awesome. How could I not eat them? And when I eat one, I have to eat four. It’s just the rule. 
  • When someone else is making me dinner. If my grandparents are making spaghetti and load my plate up with it, what am I to do? What if there is no veggie in this meal? What if they already added the parmesan cheese? Sorry mom-mom, I’m dumping this in the trash? Eh, I don’t think so.

Challenges of my challenge mates:

  • Finding motivation to exercise.
  • Maintaining healthy habits during vacation.
  • Fitting in three vegetable servings a day, especially when eating out!
  • “The idea that if all already lost points for something, the rest of the day didn’t matter.  Ex: if I ate something sweet, so already lost those points, I’d think who cares and eat more sweet things later.  Same with vegetables- if I knew by dinner time that I wasn’t getting all 3 servings I would say well doesn’t matter if I don’t eat any tonight.”
  • Not eating after 9:00pm when the work day doesn’t end until 11:30pm.
  • “I also feel like I’m cheating with some points. For instance I don’t care for sweets so I get those three points everyday. But for others that may be a real struggle. “
  • Determining vegetable servings, especially when they are mixed in with a meal, such as a Thai dish.
  • “Another issue I have is sometimes I’ll sacrifice the points from 9pm to fill my fruit and veggie points. Not sure if that’s actually better for me health-wise or just points.”

Next time, I’d like to touch on some ways in which to conquer setbacks such as these. Setbacks are a part of every behavior change. It is rare for someone to experience a successful behavior change without one single setback. Setbacks do not signal failure. Remember to focus on what you are doing well, and when you identify setbacks, create strategies with which you can conquer the challenges.

 

Also, before I sign off, below are some screen shots of the Do Yoga With Them videos I did earlier tonight.

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 8.15.28 PM

To be truthful, I actually didn’t finish the above video. After laying in mountain pose for 5 minutes, I realized that was what the entire video consisted of. While I would have loved to have done that, I was aiming for at least a tad of a workout.

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 8.53.50 PM

I ended up doing at least half of this one. It was over an hour long, and I unfortunately did not have the attention span for it tonight.

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

