Active Life DC

Happy Tuesday!

I don’t think I shared this with all of you, but two weeks ago I was Active Life DC’s ‘featured’ blogger. Click here to check that article out! I am so honored that the editors of Active Life thought my blog was worthy enough to be featured. How did my blog get featured, you ask? Well, I saw another blogger’s blog featured on their Facebook page, and I thought, “Hey! I want to be featured.” So, I wrote an inbox message to them and ask how one goes about doing that. They responded prompty, telling me to provide them with my e-mail address and blog web address and they would check out my blog and let me know. A couple days later, the editor contacted me and conducted a short interview with me via e-mail. So, did this result from someone stumbling across my blog and deeming it magnificent? No. But it goes to show that when you want something, you have to actively go after it. And, plus side, if my blog completely stunk, they probably wouldn’t have wanted to feature it, right?

As a thank you for getting to know me and my blog and putting me out there, I have decided to ‘feature’ Active Life on my page today.

 

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 8.14.56 PM

 

Great Things About Active Life DC:

1. The variety of activities they advertise.
For the sake of brevity, I will refer to Active Life DC as ALDC. ALDC promotes so many wonderful activities in the Washington, DC area, all of them related to health and fitness in some way. Some examples:

 

Take a hike in Manassas Battlefield National Park!
Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 8.24.00 PM

Don’t want to go outside of the city? That’s fine! Take a nice summer walk along the Georgia Ave/Pleasant Plains Heritage Trail.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 8.25.25 PM

FREE Sunrise Yoga at Yards Park! FREE outdoor yoga? I’m in.
Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 8.30.22 PM

Bike for a good cause in the Breast Cancer Benefit Ride at ZenGo.
Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 8.28.45 PM

2. Their list of things to do each week and weekend in Washington, DC.
Be honest. How many times have you seen pictures on someone’s FB, Instagram, twitter, etc. of really cool events they attended? Really cool FREE (or cheap) events. And thought to yourself  “WHAT?! I wish I would have known about that.” Well, ALDC can be a solution to that. Check out their weekday and weekend lists that they post each week. Now YOU can be the one that everyone is jealous of….just kidding…invite your friends, too!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 8.19.58 PM

3. The fact that they feature healthy lifestyle bloggers around DC. Check out the page of other blogger interviews here.
What a wonderful and selfless thing to do–to promote the success of others. I couldn’t be more greatful!

4. Their scientific component.
I love that they are not only providing activities to promote health, but also scientific research. It never hurts to learn more about how our bodies work.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 8.35.25 PM

5. They are pet friendly!
I mean, can you beat that?!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 9.52.03 PM

Anyway, that’s my spiel for now. Y’all should check it out. Thank you to Active Life DC again for being such a great resource for DC residents!

One thought on “Active Life DC

  1. Pingback: Beat the Seat Feature! | thesecretlifecoachofdc

Leave a Reply

