Treadmill Desk Debut

Good morning! We’ve passed Hump Day, and we’re almost at the weekend. Almost there!

On Wednesday, I decided to try out my work’s treadmill desks for the very first time. For those of you who have followed my blog for a little while, you may know that I go cuckoo for cocoa puffs when it comes to health promotion within the workplace. Remember this? Promoting workplace “wellness” (for lack of a better term because, after all, what is wellness?) played a major part in degree I just earned in May. Increasing the health of your employees increases workplace happiness and productivity. That’s the truth. Remember it. If you have any input on the major decisions made at your workplace, I highly suggest that you pay attention to that bolded sentence.

photo 3

There it is! One of the three treadmill desks on my floor. My work is opening the floor above us this Monday, and there will be 3 more desks up there as well! I can’t tell you how lucky I feel to have this amenity at my workplace. Bazinga. I couldn’t get far enough away to get a picture that encompassed the entire thing without passing by coworkers thinking I’m a loony. But as you can see, it is a relatively simple treadmill. Only a couple of buttons, nothing fancy. You can only go 2.0 mph. But that’s fine. I don’t need to sprint while reading e-mails. The point is to provide employees with an additional way to gain active minutes in their day.

photo 4

Here I am, debuting! I instagrammed this picture and all my fitness-y friends yelled at me for ‘exercising’ in sandals. It’s okay, guys. However, given the plantar fasciitis I have (still working on follow-up post, physical therapy in the works), wearing sneakers is probably a good idea. I just didn’t bring a pair to work yet! In time, in time.

Anyway, I loved it. I went back on yesterday, too. It makes me feel productive in more ways than one. It gets me away from staring out my window at the apartment building  and trees across the street and also helps me get more steps in so I can WIN THE OFFICE FITBIT CHALLENGE starting next week. It’s on.

Cheers! Have a wonderful day.

One thought on “Treadmill Desk Debut

  1. Pingback: thesecretlifecoachofdc

Leave a Reply

