Hotel Room Treadmill!

You guys will never guess how lucky I was this week. On Tuesday, I left for my first work trip. Although I had asked for a king bed (hey, why not?), I was placed in a room with two double beds because they were out of kings. I wasn’t really bothered. After all, a king bed is not truly necessary. However, my co-worker urged me to ask to get on a waiting list, so, I did. When I asked to get on the waiting list, not only did a room with a king bed open up, but, get this, it had a treadmill in it! I think my eyes literally popped out of my head when the concierge said “Well ma’am, we actually do have a king bed open for you. I hope you don’t mind if there is a treadmill in it.” First of all, WHAT. I’m sorry, you must mean that you are making me sleep in the hotel fitness center. I have never heard of individual hotel rooms having fitness equipment. Second of all, why would I mind?! Roll out of bed and walk 5 steps to my treadmill? Sign me up! Not only did this hotel room have a treadmill, but it also had a small set of adjustable weights and two yoga mats.

I got to this room at about 9:15pm on Tuesday night. Usually, I don’t work out less thatn 2-3 hours before bed because increased activity so close to bedtime can decrease sleep quality for that night. However, I knew that I wouldn’t get a treadmill in my room every time I traveled, so I felt like I had to take advantage. I spent a short 15 minutes on the treadmill and then also made use of the other provided equipment. I was so happy to get my exercise in for that day, because I knew that had that equipment not been available in my room, I would have just snuggled into my unbelievably comfortable king bed instead of searching for the fitness center. I also made use of it at 5:15am (yep, you read that right) yesterday morning. Only a shourt 1-mile run, but what a way to start the day! No, I will not continue this habit just because it felt good the one day, but maybe once a month I will drag myself out of bed before the crack of dawn to fit a work out it. (MAYBE). It would be a lot easier if I had a treadmill in my room at home. I provided two pictures below–apologies for the awful quality.

HAPPY FRIDAY!!

a8d3f9e226c4474b70cc5c0b27d870e4

photo

Leave a Reply

