Workplace Wellness at My NEW Job!

Four weeks ago (wow!) I got a new job..my first REAL, grown-up job. It’s been a roller coaster because it has been such a learning curve, but I have to admit that I am truly blessed to have landed at a job at a such a great place. It’s not so much what I am doing in my position, how much money I am making, or what my company does. It is more about how this company treats it’s employees. Let me take you through some of the perks that have made me feel so welcome and at home at my new job:

  • Free snacks! Every Monday and Wednesday, Safeway delivers bags of goodies to our office kitchen (I should say kitchens, as we now have 2 floors and 2 kitchens!). Snacks include: apples, bananas, pears, grapes, hummus, carrots, sugar snap peas, broccoli, yogurt, cheese sticks, wheat thins, honey wheat pretzel sticks, granola bars, and more!
  • Free coffee: We have these awesome coffee machines, or should I say drink machines, as they can make coffee, cappuccino, latte, espresso, tea, hot chocolate…everything! They also provide the mugs, glasses, plates, bowls, silverware, etc. This is saving me so much money, especially since there is a Starbucks right across the street from my building and I can only imagine that i would be there every day if I couldn’t get free coffee at work.
  • Cupcakes! Okay, this only happened once, but when we opened the 6th floor they had a CUPCAKE CELEBRATION (yes, you read that correctly). 500 cupcakes. All decorated with our company’s name on it. Awesome.
  • A gym. There is a gym in my building! The first time I went to use it I turned on the treadmill and all the electricity in the gym went off. I BROKE THE GYM. I just went to use the weights instead and acted like I knew nothing. The lights turned on 20 minutes later anyway soooo….
  • Treadmill desks.

Like I said, that’s just a few reasons my workplace is awesome and promotes workplace wellness. Does your workplace do the same? If so, how? I would love to hear.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

