My Hiatus and Some Random Fall Fun

I must be honest.

I may not be fully back from my hiatus yet.

I ran into a slight mental block with blogging. This is not the first time this has happened. I think I had my blogging 1/8th life crisis. All of a sudden, I felt like blogging became a burden. Because I had labeled myself a healthy lifestyle blog I felt the pressure to always be doing new things and updating my followers with my new healthy habits. Here is why this stopped working for me:

  • While I would love to say that I am constantly trying new recipes and work outs, that just simply isn’t the case. I am a creature of habit with some spontaneity thrown in from time to time. I find what works for me and I stick with it. This doesn’t mean that I don’t like to try new things…but I don’t have the time or the money to be trying new things every day. I started to try new things because I felt I had to for my blog rather than because I wanted to. It also seemed very unnatural to me to take step by step pictures of my cooking process. While I admire and respect that other bloggers do this for the sake of their followers, it just wasn’t working for me.
  • Not to toot my own horn, but I am very knowledgeable when it comes to the body and fitness. Am I an MD? No. But I’ve had 6 years of: exercise science, exercise physiology, kinesiology, etc. However, I’m not the fitness guru I think I was pretending to be. Once again, I am a creature of habit. I find workouts that work for me and I stick with it. Not sticking with a routine tends to make me get thrown off my schedule. With that being said, I do love to try new things in the work out world, just not every day.
  • Combine the two bullet points above and I basically just felt like a fraud. On top of that, I felt like I was living my life behind the screen. For instance–oh, I should take a picture of this for my blog. No, Abby. You should take a picture of it because you think it’s pretty, or cool, or maybe you just really shouldn’t take a picture of that.

Long story short. I want to blog when I want to blog and I don’t want to feel pressure to blog. And I don’t want to feel the pressure to try new things just for my blog. End rant.

And now, for some random fall fun:

October 7, 2013 588

Fall is here, fall is here, fall is here! I love fall and pumpkins and Halloween and fall.

October 7, 2013 592

Isn’t my cat the cutest? He hates when that bear is there. 

October 7, 2013 600

I liked this tree.

October 7, 2013 601

Philadelphia! Fly, Eagles, Fly! Hatas gonna hate.

October 7, 2013 602

From far away, on a Megabus. Greatest photo conditions.

October 7, 2013 606

Travel for work. But this picture is significant because it marks one of the first times I wasn’t overly anxious about my flight. Progress!

October 7, 2013 611

Did I tell you I love Halloween? I want every one of these cards. Let me know if you want to send me one…………

October 7, 2013 612

Don’t let that foliage fool you. It was one BAJILLION degrees yesterday.

October 7, 2013 613

Lies, foliage, lies.

October 7, 2013 616

I should have gone swimming.

October 7, 2013 619

Beepbeep!!

2 thoughts on “My Hiatus and Some Random Fall Fun

  1. 1. I LOVE your cat picture. I can feel his anger about that bear. 2. Cool new layout! 3. Don’t feel like you followers are expecting/demanding new things out of you. I remember you mentioned in one of the posts that a healthy lifestyle doesn’t just have to be about exercise & food. Sometimes just some encouragement to stay healthy & a reminder that others are trying too is a really big help. Healthy habits dont always have to be new. Like you said, routine is mostly what you do. It’s fun to dig out reminders of things that USED to be in a routine, but fell out somehow. Be creative with the healthy tips you are giving and break out of the box.. I’m sure you’ll be finding healthy lifestyle ideas everywhere and posting wont be such a burden/ chore. Keep on keeping on my friend, you have a great blog.

Leave a Reply

