Just Take Care of Yourself

On Wednesday, I was sitting at work and I all of a sudden felt strange chest pains. I contemplated whether or not this could be a pulled muscle. After all, this has happened before. However, it has usually happened the day after I did an exercise such as dumbbell chest press, chest fly, or push ups. I’m used to having chest strains. However, usually I can confirm that it is a muscle strain by stretching the muscle and recreating the pain. This wasn’t the case this time, so I was concerned. I tried to analyze it–did it happen at a specific time? Didn’t seem so. Did it happen with exertion? Nope. Did it happen when I was holding my arm a certain way? Did not appear to be that way.

I am known for being dramatic. In 7th grade a boy called me a Drama Queen (to which I predictably got upset about and denied). My parents have called me dramatic since birth. My brother never calls me anything because he is my best friend. So yes, I was afraid of being dramatic. I was trying to find the balance between “HOLY CRAP I’M GOING TO DIE” and “ehhhh,whatever, let’s go do some sprints!” I did find the balance, though. Rather than going to the ER in a panic (as the pain was not severe, and I did not have any accompanying symptoms), I decided to call my doctor and luckily, they had an appointment for the next morning at 7:45am. Check-ups never hurt, and as my boyfriend says “you have benefits–might as well use them.” I also decided to opt out of playing in a touch football game that night in favor of relaxing and monitoring the weird pains until the next morning.

6xw2NVvDrama Queen (King?)

1qwWADrama Seal

Why am I telling you this story?

When I texted my boss to tell her I may be late to work due to my doctor appointment, she responded back “Just Take Care of Yourself.” 5 words. A lot of meaning. And something I think we all fail to do on a daily basis. This is some of the best advice I have ever gotten, even though it is common sense.

Taking care of yourself should be a top priority, no matter what capacity it may be in.

Take care of yourself emotionally.

Take care of yourself mentally.

Take care of yourself physically.

Just take care of yourself. Don’t be afraid to check-in with your doctor. Don’t be afraid to rest. Don’t be afraid to take time to pamper yourself. Make yourself a priority.

 

Epilogue: I am fine! An EKG showed a healthy heart. The doctor told me the best thing to do was to return to my normal daily activities. So, I will be back on the football field next week!

Leave a Reply

