Why I Love Reading

Capture

(Disclaimer: I only ended up finishing one of these books…)

Have I ever told you I love reading? I love reading. I am a book worm.

And I think I discovered why I really love reading. It is an activity that truly makes me happy. The other day I was reading (funny that I found out why I love reading through reading) that the only way to be truly content and happy is to be fully present in the moment you are in–not thinking ahead and postulating about the future, not dwelling on the past, but being in the moment. When I read, I am in the moment. I am fully present in the activity that I am partaking in. My mind is fully focused on reading, taking in the story, falling in love with the characters, that I don’t have the time or mental capacity to be “elsewhere” in my mind.

One thought on “Why I Love Reading

  1. I love this! So true. Whenever I get stressed and busy I feel like reading is the last thing I feel that I am capable of doing, but I probably need it the most! I’m currently reading Orange is the New Black and it’s making me feel a lot better about all the stuff in my life – at least I’m not in jail, you know?

Leave a Reply

