Running is Easier when it’s Pretty

Good morning! Happy, happy, happy Friday. I just typed in ‘Happy Friday New Girl’ to see if I could find a Friday gif since I am obsessed with New Girl gifs, and this is what I found.

It’s like the internet read my mind. MA, I’M GOING BIG TIME!

Moving on from my big-time blogging (fake) fame.

This past Sunday I took a run on a b.e.a.YEWWWW.tiful fall day. I find running easier when it’s pretty out (doesn’t everyone?) Although I actually do occasionally enjoy running in the rain and splashing through puddles–as long as I am wearing my old sneakers and the puddles aren’t filled with gutter trash. But in addition to running on pretty days, I also love running through pretty environments. Once again, I’m sure everyone is thinking “Abby, this is a given. I mean, who likes running in bleak, ugly environments?” That’s fine, you think that thought. I can’t say enough how much certain environments, weather conditions, people, and times of day really motivate me to run. I find it hard to get myself out there some days. I’m new to this consistent running jam. I need that extra motivation. For me, getting through a run is so much easier when I have lots of different things to look at. For instance, this graffiti I found on a bridge this past weekend.

2013-11-03 15.19.42

Full disclosure: I didn’t find this when I was running. I stumbled across it when I was walking to the sports bar last Sunday. Regardless, this ‘good graffiti’ is the perfect example of something that keeps me interested and thinking during my runs. Especially when I am not wearing my headphones–which I’m not lately because I lost them–again. If anyone has any tips on how to not lose your headphones, please let me know.

Anyway, now to the good part: pictures of my pretty run.

2013-11-03 12.57.46

This is in the middle of a city! And workout stations are included. Win. (Not that I really used any of them this time, other than to stretch.)

2013-11-03 12.57.51

2013-11-03 13.02.13

Sigh, iPhone camera. Why didn’t you catch the BRIGHT yellow in the front tree?

2013-11-03 13.02.23

2013-11-03 13.04.50

Look at that blue sky! And against the trees it’s just amazing.

2013-11-03 13.05.38

2013-11-03 13.24.55

Too pretty, I can’t get over it.

2013-11-03 13.27.57

The color combination in this photo is just lovely.

Remember a couple of days ago when I told you that I was nervous about running in the cold? I was also nervous about running in the dark. Nervous that I would just not get out there because I wouldn’t be motivated by pretty blue skies, leaves, and sunsets. Daylight savings time was really killing my groove. In my mind. Well, last night i went for a run in the dark (at 6:00pm it was dark, I am sad) and it was F.I.N.E. It was good, actually.

photo (5)

Turns out crunching leaves is just as fun in the dark.

What motivates you to get out there and run?

4 thoughts on “Running is Easier when it’s Pretty

  1. I’m the same way – I loooooove running in pretty places! Today my run was on a boring track around a baseball field near my house, and I swear I ran slower because I wasn’t running in the pretty state park that I usually run in! I also make a point to sign up for pretty/interesting races, such as the one I did last weekend that took place on the Ben Franklin Bridge and had crazy pretty views of the Philly skyline! Anything with pretty fall leaves makes me enjoy running more!

Leave a Reply

