Not Running Doesn’t Equal Sitting

I spent a while this morning pondering what I would write about today. A friend suggested that I write about my weekend. So, write about my weekend I will–and don’t worry. There will be a theme. What is the theme, you ask? The same as the title: Not Running Doesn’t Equal Sitting. What does that mean, you ask?

All of us who have health and fitness goals (or any behavioral change goals for that matter) know that sometimes following through on these goals is not always as smooth as we would wish. My goal is to run as many days a week as possible (with one day of rest). As possible. That means that some days it just won’t be possible. Saturday was one of those days. Earlier this week, a friend asked if any of my group of friends wanted to drive up to Philly for a cheesesteak.

Yes.

This trip was basically unplanned, and I enjoyed the relative spontaneity of it. So, at 9am on Saturday we hopped in the car and booked it up to Philly. Amazingly, it only took us 2 hours and 15 minutes to get to Philly. Record timing, as usually there is an insane amount of traffic (who all knew Philly was so popular?). We drove back Saturday night and arrived home at around 10:15pm. So, as you can see, when would I have fit in a run?

I was too busy looking at the crack in the Liberty Bell

image_1

discovering adorable little coffee shops like Town Hall Coffee

l

This photo is not my own

with a cute seating area surrounded by local artwork inspired by jazz

image_2

and magnificent but not overstated chandeliers

image_3

and owners who take the time to talk to you and suggest other unique places to visit

image

like DiBruno Bros, where we ate a ton of free cheese, chocolate, and meat samples.

This photo is not my own

This photo is not my own

Then, full of meat, cheese, and chocolate, we ventured to Monk’s and to the Love statue.

image_6

And later wandered through the streets stuffed with cheesesteaks from Jim’s Steaks and cookies from Cookie Confidential, wondering why this street is already decorated.

image_7

Beer, cheese, chocolate, cheesesteaks, cookies, meat…. Boy, Abby. You not only didn’t run, but you ate Philly out of house and home.

WRONG, YOU ARE WRONG. Well, not wrong. Those above statements are actually quite true. However, I have a loophole. What is the loophole you ask? On my way home, I checked my FitBit, and we had taken OVER 25,000 steps. That’s approximately 12 miles.

This is where my theme/title comes in. Sure, I didn’t run. But I got out there and I walked. For an entire day. I was active. Some days you don’t feel like running. In most cases, I would say–just do it. You won’t regret it. But there are just some days that you need to give yourself a break. Give yourself a break from the running, but don’t give yourself too much of a break from the activity. Even if it’s a short walk after dinner, get your legs moving, your heart pumping. Sound boring? Walk with a friend or family member. You’d be amazed at how far you end up walking when you are lost in conversation.

Just keep walking, walking, walking. (Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming.)

just keep swimmimg

One thought on “Not Running Doesn’t Equal Sitting

  1. Yay for a trip to Philly! You hit up some of my fav spots to take tourists. Although I firmly believe that the best cheesesteaks come from John’s Roast Pork. And I’m obsessed with the Franklin Fountain’s homemade ice cream, you have to try that next time! Also that is crazy that you walked over 12 miles!

Leave a Reply

