Couch Day

Yesterday, I went rock climbing at Sportrock in Alexandria. It was a nice break from running, and a nice way to get some activity in that didn’t involve freezing my butt off. I don’t mind being outside when it’s cold–but when it’s cold AND windy? See ya. We climbed until our fingers couldn’t hold on anymore. In rock climbing, there is a handhold called crimping. They even have crimping ‘tools’ to strengthen your fingers. Never thought you’d be strengthening your fingers, eh? They even have strengthening equipment for it.

m9zUGx_YMf71quHSELS9CnAImagine that hanging on a wall…and you stick your fingers in there and your body has to hang with just your fingers holding on. It’s hard. I think my fingers last about 3.47 seconds.

Being active for 2 hours yesterday morning made me feel a lot better about what I did for the rest of the day. Sat.

and sat.

and sat.

I don’t often get to just sit around and do nothing for an entire day, and boy was it a wonderful break. I cuddled up on the couch under a comfy wool blanket, ‘watched’ football, drank hot chocolate, and read. I am obsessed with the book I am reading right now.

photo 2

I found out about this book via another blogger and obviously I have to be exactly like every blogger I follow (kidding). There is nothing I love better (maybe an exaggeration, as I do love grilled cheese and cats) than diving into a good book. Not just a book that keeps me hooked, but a book written by an intelligent writer, where the story not only keeps me hooked, but gives me no indication of a predictable ending. A story that has interwoven plotlines and either makes me feel like the narrator or relate very closely to the narrator and other characters. A story that makes me think, helps me escape my world but also indirectly teaches me lessons about my own world. This book does that. Don’t get me wrong, I love the occasional (or more than occasional) chick lit read, but books like this I can’t put down… yet I want to put them down because I don’t want them to end.

3 thoughts on “Couch Day

  1. Thanks for the book share! I love reading and love getting new recommendations so I think I’ll check that one out! My most recent book was Orange Is The New Black and I really liked it! It made me really take notice of all the things in my life that I take for granted every day. Plus she was a runner and did yoga in jail!

    • Any time! I am so glad that I have time to read again and I am always looking for new things to read. I THINK I read Orange is the New Black before, but I can’t remember whether that was a dream or not. I heard the Netflix series is great, though!

Leave a Reply

