A Christmas Run and I’m in the Top 50!

‘Twas the night before Wednesday, and all through the day,
Abby did not want to run
She was tired and cold, and feeling quite old
But then she ate a cheesy crab pizza and felt …..

That’s as far as I can get with my version of ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas. My creative gene was turned off for today. Long story short, on Tuesday night I was severely lacking running motivation. I stayed at a good-bye happy hour for one of my favorite co-workers until around 6:30, which means I didn’t get home until around 7:30. I really dislike running later than 5 or 6. I just like to get it out of the way and to be relaxing in my comfy cozy PJs by then. BUT, I had used Monday as a rest day after my 5-mile run on Sunday, and I had eaten not such healthy appetizers at The Greene Turtle. What, Abby? You mean Crab Flatbread Pizza, Sweet Potato Fries, and Fried Pickles (Frickles!) don’t make the cut? Not so much–although I do promote indulging every once and a while!

Even with the skipped Monday and my nutritious dinner, I still needed motivation. So, what did I do? I ran a run completely inundated with Christmas Spirit. I popped on my Pandora Christmas station (super soothing for a slow run) and I ran through Zoo Lights!

Aby 001

I mentioned in my post yesterday that twinkle lights make me happy and they make me EVEN HAPPIER in this setting. Look how many colors! Is that a raccoon I see?!

Aby 002

I apologize for the blurriness of these pictures but when you are being a little Christmas Dasher (SEE WHAT I DID THERE? I’m a reindeer) like me, you just can’t stop to take pictures. Plus twinkle lights don’t photograph that well anyway. OKAY?

Aby 003

Little guys like this helped to make my run more enjoyable. If you’ve ever run through the National Zoo, you know that it is 0.75 miles downhill…and then 0.75 BACK UP THAT HILL. It’s rough even when walking. But when you want to see twinkle light animals, the hill doesn’t seem so bad!

Aby 004

Remember when I told you all I was extremely afraid of when all the leaves fell off the trees and the trees would be bare? Well, this makes it loads better.

Aby 005

RAWR!!

Aby 006

I love elephants. Aby 010

Seriously, how pretty is that?! Sometimes, we all need a little extra motivation to complete our healthy behavior change goals. There is no shame in that. Even marathon runners, who happily run 10-12 miles a day on a regular basis, have times where they just DON’T want to run. Sometimes, it’s okay to give into that feeling. However, if we always gave into it, we would never do what we set out to do. Whatever you need to do to get pumped up–as long as it is in the range of healthy normal–do it! Because I turned my run into a themed run, I ran a little over 3 miles. No, it wasn’t a 5 mile run I would have liked, but it was 3 miles more than I was planning to run all day.

In other news, I received an e-mail from the editor of ActiveLifeDC yesterday showing me this link. I am so excited (and surprised) to be featured as one of the 50 awesome people in the DC Fitness Community. (Talk about motivation to get moving! I need to live up to my new title.)

Cheers!

One thought on “A Christmas Run and I’m in the Top 50!

Leave a Reply

