Tumble Over Here, Tumble Over There

Merry Christmas!

Today I received an e-mail from Tumblr informing me that my first Tumblr turned 4 years old today! Crazy.

I stopped posting on this Tumblr in August 2011 for reasons that aren’t worth sharing, and frankly I forgot it was still out on the interwebs until now. Of course I had to go back and investigate the Abby from 4 years ago.

Some of my favorite posts from Tumblr #1:

  • “If you are depressed, you are living in the past. If you are anxious, you are living in the future. If you are at peace, you are living in the present.” Toward the end of this tumblr, I was going through a really rough time in my life. This quote opened up my eyes and even though I forgot to live by it sometimes, I still think it rings true today. When I find myself feeling anxious, it’s usually correlated with the fact that I am worrying about the future. I have been trying so hard in the past few months to be mindful of where my thoughts are roaming. As soon as I venture too deep into the past or start to build scenarios up in the future, I try to snap myself back to the present. When you are truly in the moment, you have the best chance of being at peace.
  • Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 3.51.52 PM
  • Harry Potter in 99 Seconds Video
    Great video. I forgot it existed until I found it just now.
  • My best friend and I celebrating inauguration in 2009. A cold but glorious day. Her boyfriend caught this awesome candid shot. Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 4.02.31 PM
  • Too cute. Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 8.23.07 PM

I just ex’ed out of that site accidentally, but it is probably better that way. I would have spent all day on there. So, here are five of my favorite posts from the posts that I did go through. This doesn’t include the overwhelming amount of Harry Potter or cute animal photos that exist on that Tumblr. I must admit that some posts were hard to read again. The posts I was reading were mostly from 3 years ago, as I didn’t get as far back as the beginning. They were painful to read because I was a completely different and less mature person back then. While I used Tumblr for a lot of good things–expressing my creativity, sharing awe-inspiring and cute photos, building my own travel bucket list, sharing inspirational quotes, etc–I also let the internet get the best of me. I disclosed emotions that should have been kept to myself or between myself and those closest to me. I look back on those posts and I am embarrassed–I actually cringe at some of them. But you know what? I was young. I was immature. And what matters now is not that I was immature back then, but that I have grown since then. We make mistakes, we act silly, we are immature–what is important is how we learn from that and how we apply what we learn to our personal growth and to foster current relationships and build new ones.

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

