Prepping for the New Year

As January draws nearer, my first half marathon draws closer as well! I am really grateful that running this race scared me into forming a running habit a couple of months ago. I was so nervous (and still am) that I would not be able to make it across the finish line that I hit the pavement..err…cement? The fact that I am (almost) comfortably running 6 miles 2.5 months before my half is a good sign, as the first 6-mile ‘long’ run scheduled on the 1/2-marathon training plan I plan on following happens on Week 5. Considering it is a 12 week training plan, that means I am technically 7 weeks away from being ready to run 13.1 miles! But my race isn’t for 10 weeks…so I have 3 weeks ahead of schedule!

However, when you take a look at the training plan, you can still that I still have some work to do.

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 7.08.21 PM

 

Why? Because for the past 2-3 months, the majority of my training has been just running. I think I did strength training once. That is strange for me as I used to do strength training all. the. time. I did a complete 180 in the work out world. So, I have to start incorporating more strength training and stretching into my routine. While stretching is crucial after every time you work out, I know that I do not dedicate enough time to each muscle. So, how am I going to counteract that? WELL, my friends, guess what I just bought?!

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 6.46.49 PM

 

I love Groupon. This location isn’t INCREDIBLY convenient for me, but it’s convenient enough and I purchased 10 classes for $35. $25 of that was a Groupon gift card. Which means I spent $10 for 10 classes. You can’t beat $1/yoga class. I plan on going to a yoga class at least once a week. I think it will really help the problem I’ve been having with my achilles tendons, along with stretching out my consistently super tight hips.

I think I am on a roll so far…and it isn’t even 2014 yet! Which means I have to quit while I’m ahead. Happy Running! and Happy Everything else.

#FlyEaglesFly

2 thoughts on “Prepping for the New Year

  1. I love the hashtag at the end! I also think it’s awesome that you’re so far ahead of schedule! I’ve seen so many half marathon training guides and I think I’m slightly behind on my training (1 mile below what my long runs should be) but I think I’ll still be okay by February!

    • Can you believe that game last night!? Thank god for that last minute interception. My best friend is a Saints’ fan, so this Saturday will be interesting! I am quite happy with being ahead of schedule (especially because I didn’t train that way) but I know that means I have to be even more diligent. I think that you will be completely fine! The adrenaline plus the spirited crowd in Disney will keep you moving! Plus you’ll have the motivation of seeing a new disney character every mile 🙂

Leave a Reply

