Asics, Icing, and Cross Training–OH MY!

Hello and Happy Saturday, everyone!

I started off my Saturday with a wonderful brunch at Firefly, the late opening of some Christmas presents, and a cappuccino at Filter.

When I came home, I had the best surprise–new shoes! My Asics from LeftLane Sports came in today, which was a nice surprise since the tracking site had the estimated arrival date listed as this upcoming Monday.

photo 1

There are two shoes in there. Luckily. At one point I picked up the box while I had one sneaker on and the box felt empty so I was livid and aghast for 0.2 seconds until I realized that the box felt so empty because the shoes are so light–silly me! 🙂 Before I tried them on, I put the left shoe beside my foot and my heart fell. It looked way too big for my foot. About a month ago, I ordered sneakers from Nike and though they were 6.5’s, my normal size, and from the Kids’ section (yes, small feet, I know), they were too big and I was very sad. You can imagine my excitement when I put them on and…

photo 2

photo 1

THEY FIT! I am so pumped. They fit perfectly. I am convinced that the Christmas socks were good luck. I would go out and run in them now, but today is my rest day and I am trying to be good. Three months ago I would have been pumped that this was a rest day. It is just ironic that my rest day is falling on a day that I have a ton of free time and new sneaks to try out. It makes me feel a little better that it is bitterly cold outside and I would probably come back looking like this:

 

Just to reassure you that they fit…

photo 2
They do, they do, theydo-oOO! Since I am resting my legs today, I pranced around my apartment in them instead. They feel great and so refreshing from the old, worn out shoes that I have been wearing. I can’t wait to break them in tomorrow.

photo 4

When you buy new shoes, you must test them out in Christmas socks and holiday pajama pants first. That is the only true way to know. Look at that purple! BAM!

I know you want to hear a lot more about my shoes but I have to move on, okay? Okay?! I think you will be okay.

Two Random Fitness Questions I have been Wondering about and Wanted to Share the Answers with you in case you didn’t Know:
Question 1: Should I ice before or after I foam roll?
I should know the answer to this question, as I got my undergraduate degree in exercise science, took my fair share of therapeutic exercise courses, and am a personal trainer. I was fairly sure of the answer but still curious and wanted to confirm my guess, so I still looked it up. The answer, as I suspected, is that if you are going to ice and foam roll, you should always foam roll BEFORE you ice. Here are some sites to confirm that:

Question 2: When training for a race, what are the best cross training methods?
Once again, should have known this answer, but I was a bit confused, so I looked it up. Never hurts to ask, and it’s better than pretending you know and ending up injured. From Hal Higdon’s site, “What form of cross-training works best? It could be swimming, cycling, walking (see below), cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, or even some combination that could include strength training if you choose to do it on Wednesdays and Saturdays instead of as indicated on the schedule. And feel free to throw in some jogging as well if you’re feeling good. In fact, on Wednesdays I offer you the option to run or cross-train. What cross-training you select depends on your personal preference. But don’t make the mistake of cross-training too vigorously. Sports such as basketball or volleyball that involve sideways motions or sudden stops and starts do not qualify as cross-training.”

While I am sure many of you knew the answers to these questions, I am hoping I at least helped one person out there. Also, if you are reading this and disagree with any answer, please let me know!

Lastly, a training update:
I still have to get stickers for my training calendar. Since Wednesday (New Years’ Day) was supposed to be a 4mi run and I made it a rest day instead, I ran 5 miles on the treadmill on Thursday, which was the original intended rest day. I am still not sure how running on the treadmill equates to running outside, so I intend to look into that to make sure my training is on track. Yesterday, I took a 1.5-2 mile run in the snow and later hit up the elliptical for 30 minutes of cross training. All is going well, I would say. Looking forward to a longer run tomorrow!

Happy Weekend!

5 thoughts on “Asics, Icing, and Cross Training–OH MY!

  1. Nice shoes! I love bright colors. And I surprisingly knew the answer to question #2 because I was just re-reading my Hal Higdon half marathon training plan today for that exact answer! Good to know he’s everyone’s source of running info 🙂

Leave a Reply

