Reading about Running

Two unrelated running articles I read so far this week accompanied by questions and comments by yours truly.

1. Why Do Runners Gain Weight?
Runner’s World
Key Points from this article:

  • Exercising makes you hungry
  • Exercising can give you the perception that because you are working out, you can consume more calories. “For many of us, the overconfidence that regular exercise will rule and our calorie intake is not too important leads to a false sense of security and extra pounds.
  • Some runners forget to add in strength training to their workouts. Muscle burns more calories, so the more muscle you build, the more calories you burn. “… increasing muscle mass with strength training three times a week will burn more calories at rest and with activity than a smaller muscle.”
  • When runners are not running….they are sitting. Read one of my firsts posts here about why you should get on your feet and beat the seat.

Comment: The second bullet point IS SO ME! After I run I am ravenous and I use my run as an excuse to eat more as “I have to replenish my fuel, ya know dude?”


Question: How did you adjust your diet to adequately fit your new running routine?

2. Your Guide to Running at any Level
CNN Health

Key Points from this article:

  • Running just might be the most convenient workout going. You don’t need to be a skilled athlete, and there’s no fancy equipment involved; just lace up your sneaks and go.” I like this sentence and didn’t want to paraphrase it.
  • Running is one of the most effective ways to burn calories–it is an extremely efficient work out.
  • Running has many positive effects; dropping pounds, preventing diabetes, lowering blood pressure, preventing heart disease, improving mood, releasing stress.
  • This article includes basic training plans for beginning, intermediate, and advanced runners.
6 thoughts on “Reading about Running

  1. It’s funny, I think I’m an exception to the rule. I lose my appetite after a nice long run! Very true about the muscle gain though. But then who cares about weight anyway, especially, if it’s a GOOD weight, it’s all about being in a good shape and happy with yourself, no?! 🙂

    xoxo
    Olena

    • I’ve definitely heard of others like you, so you are not alone 🙂 I am not sure if it’s more that I have an increase in appetite, or more that I just like eating and use running as my excuse to indulge a little bit more. And you are right! It is all about being in good shape and being happy with yourself. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Hi! Thanks for sharing these articles! I started running half a year ago and have gained 4 kilos, and unfortunately it’s not all muscle 🙂 Mind you, running makes me feel good about myself even though I am heavier than I used to, while dieting has always made me feel awful!

  3. Pingback: The Mistake We Are Making | thesecretlifecoachofdc

  4. Running and weight gain I agree go hand in hand…its easy especially training for the distance races to over eat because your body is craving food from all the calories burned. When I’m in marathon training mode I weigh about 10 pounds more than when i’m in the off season…maybe muscle weighs more than fat or maybe I carry a lot of water weight. Many of my friends think running should make us all look like the elite runners…false… some of the fastest runners in baltimore do not have the elite looking body and they rock! I really like your advice!

Leave a Reply

