The Mistake We Are Making

After I wrote my post yesterday, I had a long chat with myself. I thought about how even running only 20 minutes one day tricks me into thinking that I can consume whatever I so please. This is most likely the reason I definitely jumped on the 3/$5 sale on Cheez-its at CVS on New Year’s Eve. “You’re a runner now, Abby.EAT WHATEVER YOU WANT!”

My immediate thought was, “Geez, Ab. You need to be more mindful of what you eat,” followed by repeating the following mantra in my head: “You WILL think about everything you eat. You WILL be mindful of the food your put into your body.” 

This is a fine mantra. Doing this is a good goal. However, this is the mistake I think we are making:

It’s two-fold:
1.) We are either not being mindful or
2.) We are mindful, but only about what we eat.

What is mindfulness, you ask?
Being in the present.
Being in the moment.
Knowing what is going on around you.
Smelling.
Seeing.
Hearing.
Feeling.

For a more professional definition, mindfulness is “a state of active, open attention on the present. When you’re mindful, you observe your thoughts and feelings from a distance, without judging them good or bad. Instead of letting your life pass you by, mindfulness means living in the moment and awakening to experience.”

Don’t get me wrong–I think mindful eating is extremely important, however, I strongly believe that what we eat or don’t eat should not be the only thing we are mindful about. Our mistake is focusing solely on food. There are so many more components to mindfulness, and I believe they are each important to creating a healthier you.

My Mindfulness Goals for 2014:
Be Mindful of…
1. The way in which I speak to people: someone once told me that when someone treats you badly, it usually has more to do with something going on inside of him or her than with you. Regardless of the origin of their nasty behavior, it still leaves an impression on you, correct? Well, newsflash–this applies to you, too. Whether you are busy, sad, tired, angry, frustrated, etc….try to be mindful of how you speak to people. One nasty comment, harsh tone, or ignored greeting can leave a lasting negative impression of you burned into their minds.


2. The facial expressions I make: see above, basically the same reason. Keep your face in check.


3. Where my thoughts are…no sense in dwelling too long in the past or worrying too much about the future. Be present. Be in the moment.

Mindfulness

I’m going to go be mindful as I walk to the metro. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

