First Half Marathon: Check! Pre-Race Recap

Saturday I ran my first half marathon. It was amazing. I was up bright and early at 4am on Saturday morning because I was so excited and anxious that I couldn’t sleep. I think watching Revenge and foam rolling is a great way to wake up on a Saturday and a great way to spend the hours of 4 and 5am.

At 6:20ish, I took a little jog down to the metro to get to the start of the race. While I didn’t have to get there until around 7:20, I was super anxious that I would have to wait for the metro, that I would get to the race too late and not be able to use the bathroom, etc. Also, because it was my first race, I really wanted to experience the pre-race environment. The metro was open two hours early for the race (it usually opens at 7am) and it was pretty cool to be on a metro filled with only runners. You could feel the buzz in the air and it was one of the most pleasant metro rides I have ever experienced. When I got off the metro, I walked to the race start with a couple of women from Gaithersburg. It was great to talk to other runners and laugh away pre-race jitters.

When I got to the race, I split away from my new-found runner friends and immediately searched for the Brooks VIP porta potties. My biggest fear about running my first half marathon was not that I wouldn’t finish–I knew that even if I had to walk at points, I would cross that finish line–it was that I would have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the race. Nightmare. When I bought my favorite new (and one of my only) running gadgets, the staff member I bought it from gave me a complimentary Brooks VIP sticker to place on my bib. I am so unbelievably thankful that I had this sticker. The lines for the regular porta potties were long. I only had to wait 2 or 3 minutes for a Brooks porta potty AND they were heated luxury porta potties, which was an added plus, but I mostly cared about the short line,

Abby iPhone 044

I took the extra time I had to let those coming out to cheer me on know what I was wearing. I figured that if they were taking the time and waking up early on a Saturday to support me, they should have the best chance as possible to find me amongst the thousands of runners.

Abby iPhone 042 Abby iPhone 045

Saturday was perfect running weather. It was a bit chilly when I left my apartment but my long-sleeve top and shorts were absolutely perfect. Not too hot, not too cold.

The pre-race environment was bouncing with music and excited runners. Some runners spent their time stretching, others jogged a warm-up, and most of us sat around chatting. I found my friends around corral 10, where I ended up staying. While I was placed in corral 25 (because I underestimated how quickly I could run the 13.1 miles when I signed up in October) and then officially changed my corral to 17 when I went to the Expo, I decided to stay in 10 because I didn’t want to wait until 17 was allowed to run–I was antsy and ready to go! One of the reasons I was so excited was because I couldn’t wait to put THIS guy (still choosing a name) to use. This is the new fitness gadget I mentioned, but forgot to right a post about even though I told you I would a couple days ago.

Abby iPhone 039

Look for the Race Recap coming soon!

3 thoughts on “First Half Marathon: Check! Pre-Race Recap

  1. Pingback: Rock’N’Roll Half Marathon: Washington DC: 3.15.14 | thesecretlifecoachofdc

  2. I’ve been doing races for years and never even knew heated port-a-potties existed! Lucky you! It sounds like you had a really great first race experience! (also good idea getting the Garmin… I just bought my first one and can’t believe I ever went without)

Leave a Reply

