Head-to-Toe Friends

Last night, I had a workout and dinner date with my best friend from college. She e-mailed me a couple days ago proposing the workout date and I was more than happy to oblige AND tack on dinner as well. She will be moving back to the beautiful New Orleans in the early summer, so I pretty much take every excuse to hang out with her to get in as many ‘Shabby hours’ as I can. (Her name is Shelby and my name is Abby so together we become Shabby. When we lived together our apartment’s name was Shabbytown.)

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 9.32.44 PM

Back when we were babies and snuck into karaoke events at Chinese restaurants and had the best fried rice I have ever tasted.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 9.35.28 PMDuring sophomore year our best form of entertainment was ourselves…..Happy Homemade Halloween!

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 9.36.40 PM

And our most recent picture together. We attended both undergrad and grad school together–this was grad school graduation this past May! Kerry Washington was the speaker…she took this picture. Just kidding.

Our workout was a simple head-to-toe sequence, but sometimes simple is best. It got me sweating and incorporated toning and strengthening exercises for all the major muscles in my body. The shoulder and chest exercises also worked on my upper and lower arm muscles. The leg exercises targeted my quads, hamstrings, and calves. The only missing element was my core, but when executing an exercise such as a dumbbell or a squat, your core needs to be actively engaged to stabilize your body, so even though there were no direct core exercises, my abs were utilized.

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 9.23.57 PM

 

Before I sign-off today, I have to give a shout out to the two below, who are coming to visit me this weekend. 20 years of friendship = an exciting reunion in DC!

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 9.38.50 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 9.42.07 PM

Good night!

2 thoughts on “Head-to-Toe Friends

Leave a Reply

