#100HappyDays; #100DaysofHappiness; #HappyShmab–Day 1

As I said yesterday, today I am starting the #100HappyDays Challenge.

HappyDays

 

Lately, I have been working hard on being ‘in the moment.’ My current assigned challenge is to be actively engaged with at least one of my senses at all times. There were times in the past where I would be walking down the street and I would be so inside my head that a Polar Bear wearing a tutu could have done 12 cartwheels in front of me and I wouldn’t have noticed. When I catch myself getting caught up in anxious or sad thoughts, I try to check back into my senses. It’s only been a week, but so far it has caused me to notice a lot more in my surroundings–such as buildings and organizations in my city that I never knew existed–and to literally pick up the Trader Joe’s flowers that I bought myself last week to really smell the big yellow one I like the best a lot.

Some quotes that inspire me to be in the moment and reinforce my belief that being in the moment is the best approach to a happy and fulfilled life.

Capture

“Worry does not keep it from raining tomorrow, but it does keep it from being sunny today.”
― Shannon L. Alder

139_thesecret

Abby’s 100 Days of Happiness: #HappyShmab

Screen Shot 2014-03-30 at 2.38.05 PM

 

While I am challenging myself, I urge you all to join the challenge with me. You can find the rules at the link above, but below are the additional rules I am giving myself.

1. Complete this challenge with the thought of extending past 100.
Choosing to be happy 100 days in a row is an amazing thing–however, I truly believe that the end goal of this exercise should not be to check off a box after 100 days saying “WELP, I DID IT! I was happy for 100 days–back to my old habits.” I believe that the purpose of this exercise is to choose to be happy for 100 days so that it becomes a habit and extends past the 100 days. While, yes, this is a challenge, think of it more as a lifestyle behavior change. After all–there are 365 days in a year–don’t you want to be happy for more than 100 of them?

2. Utilize Twitter as your main #100HappyDays media venue.
While I will be using this blog and Instagram to document a lot of my happy moments, my main venue will be Twitter. Please follow me at @shmabbywolfe. For my specific challenge, look for #HappyShmab.

3. Remember the underlying message.
This is not a competition and it is not something that is supposed to make you feel badly about yourself. If you miss a day, it’s fine! Just pick it up the next day. Also, the underlying message is to choose to focus on things that make you happy rather than dwelling on the things that are getting you down. This challenge is not about days being filled to the brim with happy moments. There are still going to be frustrating, sad, angry moments in the upcoming days, unfortunately. As per usual, some days will just generally work out better than other days. The trick is control your thoughts, controlling your focus–being MINDFUL–and redirecting it to the positive.

DAY 1
photo 1 (2)
This morning I volunteered at Miriam’s Kitchen, a non-profit that “is committed to ending chronic homelessness in DC by creating meaningful connections with chronically homeless individuals, placing them in permanent supportive housing, and ensuring they have the necessary support to remain in housing”

My first task of the day was to squeeze a couple hundred oranges and clementines to make juice! While there are definitely more technologically progressive juicers out there, I loved this one. It made me feel strong. Also, the color of the orange juice was just so pretty and I really wanted to taste the fresh juice. Giving back to my community also always gives me a happy spark, even when I almost knock myself out with the juicer, which I did.

I challenge you to take control of your happiness–are you feeling up to the challenge? 

2 thoughts on “#100HappyDays; #100DaysofHappiness; #HappyShmab–Day 1

  1. Pingback: The Little Things Count, Too! [Day 2] | thesecretlifecoachofdc

  2. Hi Shmab! I volunteered today at Miriam’s Kitchen and thought of you. It’s really incredible how we forget to be grateful for all the little and big wonderful things in our lives. And gratefulness and happiness are so intrinsically intertwined. Happy Thursday and thanks for sharing your journey here and inspiring all of us to focus on being happy, no matter what the day brings us.

Leave a Reply

