Things I’m Loving….Today

Good morning, y’all!

I meant to come back on Friday to do a Things I’m Loving Friday post but then my exciting life got in the way. I spent the majority of Friday night with my friend and her new dog Murray and of course we capped off the night with some Say Yes to the Dress and Something Borrowed, Something New (I think that’s the title)?

So, today’s post is going to be about Things I’m Loving Today…and was probably loving Friday, too.

1. Sunsets

Abby iPhone 038

Pictures never do a sunset justice, but the sunset that Chris and I witnessed on Saturday night while out in very rural Virginia was absolutely breathtaking. We had a 30-40 minute drive to dinner and all I could do was stare at it the entire time, which probably gave me whiplash because I kept spinning my head around to see all the bright yellows, oranges, and pinks. A sunset out in the country is different, too, because you can see the whole sky rather than it being obstructed by buildings.

Abby iPhone 040
2. Watching the Boston Marathon live

Boston

I have this up on one of my screens right now. One of my co-workers is running in the race and I am so proud of her and everyone else running. This year, there are 36,000 participants in the race. Usually, there are 26,000. They opened the race up to more so they could offer race bibs to not only those who qualified but to those who were injured and wanted to run, groups who are running in support of the bombing victims last year, and runners from last year who did not get to finish due to the horrific bombings. Last year, I feared that the bombings would cause less people to sign up and attend, but the opposite occurred. My heart is full and I will be lacing up my running shoes later today. #BostonStrong.
3. Trigger Points

trigger3

Last week I went to a work dinner with my manager and we ended up talking about trigger points. As I have mentioned in prior posts, I have been having a lot of trouble with plantar fasciitis. He mentioned that the soleus trigger point is a key player in plantar fasciitis and to use my marathon stick  to treat that particular area. I did some additional ‘research’ (web-surfing) on trigger points and found this fascinating image that I have been staring at every time I foam roll.

4. Iced Coffee….with Cinnamon and Nutmeg

It’s getting warmer–that means Iced Coffee time!

coffee and iced coffee

I always get ‘light’ ice in my iced coffees because otherwise I feel like they put too much ice in, which means I paid over $3 for about 3 ounces of coffee. No way, Jose. Chris introduced me to adding nutmeg to my iced coffee and I am hooked! He also taught me how to shake it the right way so that it dissolves, but I still end up getting coffee everywhere. I have accepted that this is just the way my coffee shaking ventures will go. Or just my coffee drinking ventures in general. I don’t know if it’s the cups I get or how I put the lid on but the past 5 times I’ve had coffee it has dripped on my shirt. Anyway, I also add cinnamon. Sometimes we forget how flavorful spices can be–much better than adding sugar!

5. Urban Escapes with this guy

Abby iPhone 025

 

This weekend Chris and I ventured out to rural Virginia wine country. It is only an hour away from DC, but it felt like I had been transported to another land. I had a wonderful weekend and I am so sad it is over. As beautiful as VA wine country is, I soon realized why I live in the city. The closest grocery store was 40 minutes away…and a pharmacy? Good luck! But we could see the stars, and that was nice.

Abby iPhone 026

 

Abby iPhone 034

 

Abby iPhone 031

Thanks to this guy for a wonderful weekend. 🙂

photo 1 (3)

Lastly, a #100HappyDays update.

Screen Shot 2014-03-30 at 2.38.05 PM

I think the last time I updated was Day 11, so I will just choose my favorites from the past 10-11 days.

Day 12: Spring is here!

Shmab 092

 

Day 14: FINALLY got to ride the #bikeinbloom!!! 

Shmab 098

 

Day 15: Awesome presents from a favorite co-worker of mine. 

 

Shmab 104

 

Day 20: An amazing day in Virginia wine country. 

Capture

Happy Monday! Talk to y’all later.

2 thoughts on “Things I’m Loving….Today

  1. Pingback: Things I’m Loving Friday (PART CINCO) | thesecretlifecoachofdc

  2. Pingback: Things I’m Loving Friday (seven) | thesecretlifecoachofdc

Leave a Reply

