EARTH day should be every day

Hello and Happy Earth Day!

Did you know that today was Earth Day? It’s all over the Twitter-sphere. NASA just tweeted this picture of our planet today and even though I’ve seen pictures like this multiple times, I am still in awe. Do you know the one thing we ALL have in common? We are all somewhere in that picture…..even if you are on the side of the planet that isn’t shown, you are on planet Earth and planet Earth is in that picture, soooo…..

Unless you are an alien. Let me know.

earth

 

What is Earth Day?
Earth Day is an annual event, celebrated on April 22, on which events are held worldwide to demonstrate support for environmental protection. It was first celebrated in 1970, and is now coordinated globally by theEarth Day Network,[1] and celebrated in more than 192 countries each year.[2 (Thanks, Wikipedia)

I view Earth Day the same way I view Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. It is good to have an appreciation reminder but in reality, every day should be Mother’s Day…and Father’s Day…and Earth Day…and Abby’s Day (especially this one, right?).

4 Ways I Try to Be Nice to Earth Every Day

1. Turn off the lights: It’s really not necessary to have lights on in a room that you aren’t currently using, is it? I try to turn the lights off in the kitchen and bathroom except for when I am physically using those spaces. Sometimes I catch myself forgetting, but I always try.

2. Use Minimal Paper Products: One of my pet peeves is when people use 10 sheets of toilet paper every time they use they bathroom. Calm down. Unnecessary. When it comes to paper towels, I use only the amount I need. Just because they make each sheet a certain size doesn’t mean you have to use the whole sheet each time. If I just have a tiny spill to wipe up, I’ll rip off a corner instead of using the whole thing. 

post-8137-Cat-toilet-paper-gifs-UnbM


3. Recycle
download

4.  Reuse! 
I literally have ALL of these at my desk right now. That Starbucks one is Chris’s–sorry, I’ll get that back to you eventually 🙂 

photo (7)

Earth Day can also be a great reminder of what our planet can provide you in terms of physical activity. With all the new fitness trends and fancy gyms popping up, I think we can tend to forget that we have a ton of natural resources at our fingertips that can provide us with just as great of a workout.

*please credit this photo back to me*

*please credit this photo back to me*

Lakes to swim in…

image_5

Rocks to climb…

IMG_4165

Pumpkins to pick up…(Pumpkin Bicep Curls, right?)2013-11-03 12.57.46

Pretty scenery to run through…

How will you use the EARTH to exercise today?

3 thoughts on “EARTH day should be every day

Leave a Reply

