5 Things I Love About Exercising Outside

1. Getting creative with the built and/or natural environment

photo 1

Why THANK you, stairs. I will in fact use you for stair running, calf stretches, and calf raises. You are so kind.


2. The Runner’s Nod

I often find that as I am passing other runners we exchange a smile or a nod as if we are saying “We are in this together, you’re doing great.” I’ve never tried high fiving someone on a treadmill because I fear I’ll fall off or accidentally push them off or something…..

runners running waving

Sometimes I smile and nod at a runner and they just look at me or stare straight past me so I just tell myself he or she was REALLY focused on his or her run and didn’t even notice my awesome gesture of running companionship and chivalry. I empathize with Tom Brady.


3. Utilizing Different Terrains and Built-in Hills

IMG_4045

When running on a trail or the sidewalk, I’ll often switch over to the grass every once in a while. It’s great for your joints and it’s also just a nice change.

image_3

This is the hill I tackled during my half marathon. Nothing beats a natural hill….especially not running on an incline on a treadmill. Not my thing.


4. Nature
, enough said

IMG_4063

photo 1

Abby iPhone 021


5. Exploring my city…or a new one!

photo 1

image_2

5 thoughts on “5 Things I Love About Exercising Outside

  1. Pingback: On My Radar This Week | dc fit crasher

  2. I have always loved running outside – being one with nature and the early morning waking sounds of the world … it is my time of day and my place to be. As a result I don’t see too many others, but am always enthusiastic when I do! 🙂

  3. Pingback: On My Radar This Week | the fit crasher

Leave a Reply

