Running Lately…and Exciting News!

Hello again, friends!

Running has been really exciting for me lately. Not that every step has been filled with fireworks and kittens but for the past 3 weeks, I’ve been consistently running, and that is very exciting to me.

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 9.47.14 PM

Also, the other day I ran NEGATIVE SPLITS! Without even trying. I am proud.

Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 8.47.23 PM

I believe I told you this before, but I took a pretty significant break after my first half in March. 3 weeks ago I started running again, and I’m currently running about 4 times a week, 2-3 miles each time. It’s nowhere near 13 miles, but I am glad to have a solid base. Today I went running and told myself I had to start off easy, as my past couple of runs I’ve been booking it. About 0.5 miles into my run I felt great and I looked down at my Garmin, expecting to see a pace of around 10:00. I was very surprised to see 9:05. I kept an average pace of 9:05-9:20 for 3 miles and I felt good the entire time, which is a good sign to me. I think I’m finally ready to start building mileage again….which is G-O-O-D because guess who signed up for her SECOND half marathon today?! THIS GIRL.

ODDyssey

I will be running the ODDyssey Half Marathon in Philly on June 8th (about 6 weeks!). I’ve been searching for my second race for a while now and I just couldn’t find that ‘fit.’ I started searching for races not only in the DC area but also in the Philly area, since I have a lot of friends and family there and it’s easy to get to. Yesterday, I immediately stumbled upon the ODDyssey Half. The two paragraphs that convinced me?

“The ODDyssey was recognized as one of the top 100 road races in North America last year because of the race’s dedication to the runners’ experience!   Philadelphia’s spring half marathon, the fifth annual ODDyssey will race on June 8, 2014. It has all the bells and whistles that runners want and need like a USA Track and Field certified course, professional photographers who provide free runner photographs and cash prizes for winners.  The ODDyssey even has such an advanced chip timing system that as soon as you cross the finish line you can immediately look up your results on touch screen kiosks.

  But, the ODDyssey also is the most fun half marathon you will ever run.  It features live music along the course and at the finish, medals with beer openers built in, and commemorative pint glasses to all finishers! Best of all, sponsors Sly Fox Brewery will provide you with a free beer at the finish line and PhilaMassages will have a platoon of masseuses providing free post race massages. There is even a costume contest with bobble-head trophies (about 35% of runners ran in costume last year) and there are optional quirky challenges along the course.”

Sold. Also, they are a big promoter of wearing tutus and other costumes during the race. I can’t wait to plan mine! Probably something lightweight since it will be June….I am slightly nervous about the heat.

AND ALSO, the race medal is in the shape of the Liberty Bell! And it’s not just a medal. It’s a plaque and a bottle opener as well! How cool is that?

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 10.04.49 PM

I am super excited. 🙂

Good night!

4 thoughts on “Running Lately…and Exciting News!

  1. Dang! Odyssey sounds awesome!!! And costumes are always fun! And remember- whether it’s a 9 min mile pace or a 18 min mile pace, you’re out there doing it and you’re getting stronger every day 🙂

    • It DOES sound awesome and I am SO excited! And you are completely right–a mile is a mile no matter how fast you complete it. Thanks 🙂 I just tend to go really fast at the beginning because I am excited (or I just want to get my run over with) and then I am WIPED by mile 3.

Leave a Reply

