7 Miles Before 7am

HAAAAPPY Monday!

Or should I say, Happy Cinco de Mayo?! Today is a day for margaritas.

Yesterday I skipped my long run in lieu of gallivanting all over DC, and since I knew I was grabbing margaritas after work, I committed to waking up over an hour earlier than usual and completing my long run this morning. I’ve made this promise to myself before and broken it. I always crave that extra hour of sleep. But somewhere along the line, I realized that if I want results–whether increase in speed, decrease in weight, fat loss, etc., I needed to commit to making a change. I needed to commit to the action items (holy work talk) that would commit to my desired results. I can no longer keep making up excuses. I am fully aware that if I wake up each morning and work out before work, I will feel SO much better throughout the rest of the day. In the past, my excuse has been: “well, with my commute, it’s impossible for me to work out before work and still get to work at a decent time.” False. If I go to bed earlier, I will wake up earlier. I was hesitant to give up 30-60 minutes of my night in lieu of going to bed earlier, but then I thought–what am I REALLY doing with those 30-60 minutes? Nothing useful. So, CHEERS, to margaritas and forming a new habit–because first you make the habit and then the habit makes you.

Things that helped me get out of bed this morning:

  1. I told Chris and Shelby my intentions yesterday, which held me accountable to a certain extent. While I knew that neither would be disappointed in me if I decided to stay in the comfort of my zebra bed, I also knew that both cared enough to ask if I did it and I would feel badly if I had to say “No, nah, I didn’t end up doing it because [insert excuse x, y, OR z here].”
  2. I went to bed early.
  3. I had multiple dreams that I woke up late. I had a very rocky sleep so I was jarred awake around 5:30am anyway.
  4. I had the sneaking suspicion that if I didn’t do my long run this morning, I would struggle to cross the finish line on June 8 (the date of my second half marathon!!). So… obviously beating my time of 2 hours would be out of the question.
  5. I told myself that if I beat my time of 2 hours and work out before work 2-3 times a week I could buy myself a nice pair of Brooks running shoes. Like these:

brooks running sneakers run

 

Hahaaa just kidding. These are $160. I’ll still probably have to go to the Sale section. I will probably go to Fleet Feet either way to get a proper sneaker fitting (They have a ‘FITlosophy.’ It makes me smile). By the way, did you know Brooks has a Wish List? This is dangerous.

Screen Shot 2014-05-05 at 8.21.17 PM

 

Thoughts during my early, early morning run:
Yes! One mile before 6am
Holy crap I still have 6 miles
I can’t wait until I am halfway through
Oh gosh when I’m at 3.5 miles I still have 3.5 miles left
WHY AM I ON THE TREADMILL
I am hungry
I WANT TO STOP
I feel awesome about myself
I’m getting up early to workout all the time!
I can’t do this again
Maybe I should just do 5 miles
Or 4
YOU HAVE TO DO 7 MILES OR YOU WON’T MAKE IT OVER THE FINISH LINE IN JUNE
I hate the treadmill
I think my toes are burning off
What is this movie? This is a strange representation of South Africa

How early do you wake up to work out? One of my co-workers wakes up at 4:45am but I draw the line at 5:30am. 

7 thoughts on “7 Miles Before 7am

  1. Ugh, I always have the best intentions about waking up early and doing morning workouts, but so far it just hasn’t happened. Kudos to you for actually doing it!

    • I’m telling you, this is the first time EVER I have been able to do this on my own. In high school I had 7am practices for field hockey pre-season but other than that, I couldn’t do it. Being able to beat 2 hours in my half on June 8th was my final push. Maybe you need a final push!

  2. Congrats! It is SO HARD to convince your sleeping-self that waking up to run is worth it. Although I am usually up at 6am to feed my annoying cat, I very much enjoy going back to sleep for an extra hour – however, my boyfriend signed us up to Planet Fitness and now I use my cat as my “gym alarm”. You are SO RIGHT about going to bed early though- on days I stay up too late FORGET IT!

  3. Congrats! I am a big fan of very early morning workouts now, but I certainly wasn’t always that way. I love that inner feeling of “wow, I already got so much done this morning” that stays with me through the day. And the permission to have a lazy evening and go to bed early. 🙂

  4. Congrats on 7 miles that early! I am NOT a morning person at all, so I can’t even imagine how hard that must be! Great job! And I love your mid-run thoughts, they sound like me!

    • I am a morning person in the sense that once I’m up early I love it….but getting to bed early and actually getting up early is the tough part 🙂 Thanks for the support! I think I’ll share my mid-run thoughts more often…I do have A LOT of them.

Leave a Reply

