Popped Quinoa (WHAT?)

Good morning and Happy Tuesday!

The best kind of Mondays are Mondays that are actually Tuesdays….Four day week, here I come!

I had a great weekend filled with lots of food and friends. On Saturday night, three of my friends who are moving out of DC had a going away party. Prior to the party, some of us held a potluck dinner. I contributed a ‘sweet potato avocado tomato quinoa salad.’ That’s a mouthful, right? I should probably come up with a better name for it.

Abby iPhone 012

Used my tricolor quinoa from Trader Joe’s. I don’t think it tastes a ton different than uni-color regular quinoa, but I like the different colors. I think it makes the meal look more interesting.

Abby iPhone 013

While I was making the quinoa, I had sweet potatoes in the oven. I cut them up really tiny this time, microwaved them for the duration of ‘one potato’ and then roasted them for about 15 minutes. I l-o-v-e sweet taters.

Abby iPhone 014

When done, I mixed the quinoa and sweet potatoes with avocado and tomatoes and added a little salt. I probably could and should have added more seasoning, but I didn’t have any on hand that I wanted to use and I didn’t want to use a ton of salt.

Abby iPhone 015

I don’t know if you know this, but I love quinoa, too. I wrote three other posts about it a while back (here, here, and here). I just think it’s so versatile–you can literally mix it with anything and it will taste yummy. Huffington Post thinks that quinoa is a superhero! The author says:

7 Health Benefits of Quinoa
1. High in protein — its protein balance is similar to milk and has more protein compared to rice, millet or wheat.
2. A good source of riboflavin — riboflavin helps reduce the frequency attacks in migraine sufferers by improving the energy metabolism within the brain and muscle cells.
3. The saponins from quinoa are used to promote healing of skin injuries in South America, making it a good antiseptic.
4. It’s alkaline-forming. Although it is not strongly alkaline-forming, it is comparable to wild rice, amaranth, and sprouted grains.
5. It only has 172 calories per ¼ cup dry quinoa.
6. Since it is not related to wheat or grain, it’s gluten-free. Millions are discovering they feel better and lose weight when they reduce gluten grains or at least wheat products. 
7. It is a complex carbohydrate with low glycemic index. This is again good for weight management. I use it in a number of my health Boot Camps.

ALSO, ALSO, ALSO: This article told me that you can pop quinoa like POP CORN!!! I am trying this out soon, for sure. So pumped.

Abby iPhone 017 Abby iPhone 018

Sunday afternoon before a friend’s BBQ, Chris and I spent an hour or so sitting on rocks at the Georgetown Waterfront with our feet in the water. It felt amazing. Sunday was a perfect day, weather-wise. Why, you ask? Because it was sunny and 80 WITH NO HUMIDITY. Perfect.

Abby iPhone 019

On Memorial Day we arrived at Open City early enough to only have a short wait. I’m telling you, the cappuccinos and animal cracker treats never get old. Later on I took a run….which I will save for later! Off I go–cheers!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Popped Quinoa (WHAT?)

  1. I LOVE sweet potatoes too!! And what is this Open City you are referring to? Is this a place that sells cappucinos and animal crackers? Great meeting you yesterday!

Leave a Reply

