Walk It Out

Happy Friday!

Today’s post is not going to be a Things I’m Loving Friday post–I’m going to wait until I have more new things to share with you before I post another one 🙂

From Tuesday through Thursday of this week I was in Indianapolis for work. This was my fourth time going there since last July, but until this week I hadn’t really explored any part of Indy except my hotels, the office building, Cafe Patachou, and Cerulean.

When my coworker and I arrived Tuesday, however, we decided to go on a walk before dinner to explore.

We left the hotel and walked to the canal. For about an hour, we walked up and down the canal, including to where it connects with the White River.

photo 3All along the canal where different pieces of art. I especially liked this one, above, as all the colorful squares would spin with the wind and make a pretty tinkling sound.

photo 2We also spotted an elephant outside of one of the museums that lines the canal, and I love elephants, so obviously I had to capture this moment. This picture inspired me to show you The 35 Cutest Baby Elephants. I love the fuzzy one below. [Note: I did NOT see these elephants on the canal :)]

Screen Shot 2014-05-30 at 8.25.59 AM

 

Anyway, back to the canal. One of the other areas we spent some time looking at was the garden we found at one end, called Growing Places Indy. I loved walking through this large garden (more like a tiny farm!) and seeing everything they planted–green onions, scallions, lettuce mix, tomatoes, and more! I can’t wait until I live somewhere where I can grow some vegetables and herbs of my own again. I always used to grow tomato plants with my famly in Pennsylvania, but it’s not as easy in an apartment in Washington, DC. The smell of tomatoes fresh off the vine is one of my favorite smells.

photo 4

After the farm I also found some of my favorite friends. Make way for ducklings!

photo 5

 

I’ve said this before, but one of the best ways to see a new city is to walk or run through it. My coworker and I ended up walking for an hour and a half. That, combined with the walking we did in the airport and then to and from dinner later that night, equaled about 8 miles of walking, which is awesome! We got in well above the recommended 10,000 steps/day on Tuesday. I felt great afterwards and a lot less guilty about the wonderful dinner I indulged in at Cerulean. Get out there and get walking!

One thought on “Walk It Out

  1. Pingback: Walk It Out | Hoosier Herald

Leave a Reply

