The ODDyssey Half Marathon: Pre-Race Day

Hello and Happy Monday!

Yesterday was a big day for this girl over here–I ran my second half marathon!

On Saturday morning, Chris and I left bright and early for Philly. The drive up there really isn’t bad at all if you don’t hit any traffic, which we didn’t (phew!).

IMG_5743

Even though I’ve seen this skyline several times throughout my life, I never get sick of it. I’m a sucker for a good skyline.

IMG_5745

Many thanks to Chris, as always, for taking one for the team and driving me to and from Philly. I can’t imagine what it would have been like to suffer through a bumpy bus ride after running 13.1 miles.

IMG_5746

It was a beautiful day Saturday, which was awesome because we planned on spending the whole day exploring the city. Our first stop was Boathouse Row to pick up my bib. The Expo wasn’t as big as the Rock’N’Roll Expo, but I didn’t mind because I didn’t want to spend the day inside and the last thing I need to do is get suckered into spending more money 🙂

IMG_5748

After I picked up my bib, we drove to a little town about 10 minutes outside of Philly, where my brother lives. We parked the car there and took the train into the city.

IMG_5750

 

The train ride only took about 20 minutes, which was nice, and it dropped us off exactly where we wanted to be–center city! As soon as we got off the train the first thing I saw was the Philadelphia Runner store. Being that I was in the city for a half marathon, I found it fitting to go inside. I thought I might find a running tee with a funny saying on it, but instead I walked out with kinesio tape and an leg band to wear while running to prevent knee pain (from my pesky IT, sigh).

IMG_5751

After the running store, we hit up Chris’s favorite place–Monk’s Cafe. Great beer, mussels, fries, and people. I only had one beer because I didn’t want to overdo it before race day. I drank water like crazy on Saturday to make sure I was properly hydrated and also to help soothe my scratchy throat. We met up with my brother and a friend who just moved to Philly and grabbed lunch at a BBQ place and then explored Philly a little bit more.

IMG_5753

We stumbled across the Magic Gardens. I definitely need to go back there.

IMG_5752And of course I had to show my brother Cookie Confidential–an amazing cookie (and other treats) shop that I discovered while in Philly in November.

After stocking up on cookies (the perfect pre-race fuel), we headed back to my brother’s and grabbed dinner in his quaint little town. I was in bed by 10:30, ready to take on race day! But still slightly sick.

Check back later for my review of the actual race!

Run Happy, Run Free

8 thoughts on “The ODDyssey Half Marathon: Pre-Race Day

    • Chris makes me go to Monk’s every time we are in Philly! I really don’t mind it, though 🙂 And you definitely need to try out Cookie Confidential. Their chocolate chip cookies are amazing, but they also have cookies with different ingredients, like popcorn, olive oil, rhubarb….and they are all good!

  1. Catching up on old posts right now and this made me miss home so much! I also used to see that skyline every day on my drive to work and it never ever got old. I’m jumping over to read your race recap next!

Leave a Reply

